SQLitening Support Forum

General => General Board => Topic started by: ken_anthony on August 06, 2016, 05:00:21 pm

Title: setting up cloud server
Post by: ken_anthony on August 06, 2016, 05:00:21 pm
I got a cloud server contract with 1&1 and trying to setup the SQLitening service...

SQLiteningServerAdmin says 'failed to start' and I can't find a log file. Any ideas. I'm using RDP.
Title: Re: setting up cloud server
Post by: Fredrick Ughimi on August 06, 2016, 07:14:14 pm
Hello Ken_Anthony,

Did you "Run As An Administrator" when you were running SQLiteningServerAdmin?

Just a thought.

Regards,
Title: Re: setting up cloud server
Post by: ken_anthony on August 06, 2016, 09:03:38 pm
Yes, Administrator is the only user on the server right now.
Title: Re: setting up cloud server
Post by: ken_anthony on August 06, 2016, 09:16:27 pm
Crating a DB on the server by running a local mode program on the server works fine.
Title: Re: setting up cloud server
Post by: Fredrick Ughimi on August 06, 2016, 09:20:13 pm
I meant right clicking on SQLiteningServerAdmin and selecting 'Run As Administrator' to run SQLiteningServerAdmin.
Title: Re: setting up cloud server
Post by: ken_anthony on August 06, 2016, 10:44:56 pm
Just tried right clicking and 'run as admin'... no difference.  It doesn't work on my local machine either. Could it be a path problem?
Title: Re: setting up cloud server
Post by: ken_anthony on August 06, 2016, 10:56:34 pm
OpenSCManager is where it fails. Trying to look deeper into it now.
Title: Re: setting up cloud server
Post by: ken_anthony on August 06, 2016, 11:08:47 pm
Some progress. It's not enough to right click and run as admin. You have to set run as admin in property page. Now it works on my local machine. However that did not fix it on server even with win 8 compatible mode. This has me dead in the water.
Title: Re: setting up cloud server
Post by: ken_anthony on August 06, 2016, 11:16:49 pm
I made no changes to cfg file. not sure, but it seems log file is only written on success (I have one now locally but not yet on server.)
Title: Re: setting up cloud server
Post by: cj on August 06, 2016, 11:19:29 pm
Do you have a dedicated server running Windows?
Does the server allow running windows processes?
What do you mean by a cloud server? 

Most ISP's do not allow running executables.
On Windows machines if the server doesn't start it is
probably the firewall or not allowing your port or the anti-virus
blocking the service.

Title: Re: setting up cloud server
Post by: cj on August 06, 2016, 11:22:50 pm
[General]
ServiceNameSuffix=
Port = 51234
Hosts = 192.168.1.2
LogConnDcon=Yes
LogInvalidInMessage=yes
CreateDatabaseAllowed=no
TrimLogManually=yes
MaxChunkSize=500
MaxConnections=0
ConnectionTimeOut=-1

At a command prompt please issue IPCONFIG and see if the IP v4 Address matches the Hosts line.

Virtual hosts running Windows probably wouldn't allow running a service or any executable unless you rent the machine.
Again, confused about cloud services being mentioned.
Title: Re: setting up cloud server
Post by: cj on August 06, 2016, 11:37:56 pm
Quote
I made no changes to cfg file. not sure, but it seems log file is only written on success (I have one now locally but not yet on server.)

It is required to have the Hosts line match the IP v4 Address or the machine name.
The inbound port, say 51234 must be allowed by the firewall and the router may need to forward it to the
same address as on the HOSTS line.





Title: Re: setting up cloud server
Post by: ken_anthony on August 07, 2016, 12:06:12 am
ok. working with 1&1 support now. thx. I let them know this program is the entire reason I'm using there service. I'll get back to you.
Title: Re: setting up cloud server
Post by: ken_anthony on August 07, 2016, 12:13:27 am
I gave support guy this link while they now are controlling server and pointed out IP must match. I'm waiting...
Title: Re: setting up cloud server
Post by: ken_anthony on August 07, 2016, 12:33:24 am
As an aside. PB no longer works with the admin program unless I give it admin privilege as well now. At least now I can continue testing my program with a more realistic simulation of server ops on my local machine. I lost contact with the 1&1 support rep, but I have an incident ticket. I'm going to take a break now, but will report any news.
Title: Re: setting up cloud server
Post by: ken_anthony on August 07, 2016, 01:26:26 am
Took my 30 minute programmer's nap. Now I'm fresh as a daisy...except for the bad heart and 17 other things trying to kill me!

Virtual hosts running Windows probably wouldn't allow running a service or any executable unless you rent the machine.
Again, confused about cloud services being mentioned.


That's why I'm using 1&1.com. They will let me run this program and it's a good deal. Do you have the service running anywhere on the internet?
Title: Re: setting up cloud server
Post by: ken_anthony on August 07, 2016, 01:52:40 am
if you had access to my server... do you think you might be able to figure out the problem? I know I'm asking a lot.
Title: Re: setting up cloud server
Post by: ken_anthony on August 07, 2016, 04:08:21 am
Sorry... I was out of it.

got error -16 can not connect.

both local and on server.
Title: Re: setting up cloud server
Post by: ken_anthony on August 07, 2016, 04:36:05 am
same error.
Title: Re: setting up cloud server
Post by: ken_anthony on August 07, 2016, 04:39:32 am
I'm groggy, but I don't understand this line...

slConnect "xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx",12345
Title: Re: setting up cloud server
Post by: ken_anthony on August 07, 2016, 04:48:46 am
same error, but this time showing new server and port.
Title: Re: setting up cloud server
Post by: ken_anthony on August 07, 2016, 04:54:49 am
Let me get to that. In other news, my new domain (http://planetplots.com/) seems to have propagated to the dns I'm using. Shhh... not really ready to give that out yet... oh well.
Title: Re: setting up cloud server
Post by: ken_anthony on August 07, 2016, 05:06:59 am
AVG is a virus. I can't seem to get rid of it. As far as my own firewall. I'm looking at it, but can't make heads or tails out of it. I'm actually having more success managing my remte server. Give me some time to figure it out.
Title: Re: setting up cloud server
Post by: ken_anthony on August 07, 2016, 05:17:05 am
AVG & firewall off... still can not connect.
Title: Re: setting up cloud server
Post by: ken_anthony on August 07, 2016, 05:31:14 am
can't get much more basic than that... same error.
Title: Re: setting up cloud server
Post by: ken_anthony on August 07, 2016, 05:36:47 am
I've got to get some sleep and will be dealing with 1&1 support in the morning. I really appreciate your help. I've got to get these things figured out, but today may not be the day.
Title: Re: setting up cloud server
Post by: ken_anthony on August 08, 2016, 07:28:29 pm
I'm going out of my freakin mind. I got a new server on godaddy. I set properties to run as admin. I turned off the firewall because I can't figure out how to just open a freakin port. You may replace 'freakin' with any damned blasphemy you can think up.

I'm dead. I'm tired. I'm about ready to take a shotgun to my computer. The only place SQLitening works remotely is if I dont run it on a remote machine.

The good news is godaddy will only charge me $130 and still not fix my problem.

I blew three months savings last night. I'm done.
Title: Re: setting up cloud server
Post by: ken_anthony on August 08, 2016, 11:59:05 pm
Threatening computer with shotgun seems to have helped. SQLitening is now running on my server using unmodified CFG file. I still have no idea how to manage the firewall. SQLitening  is running with no changes to the firewall and I haven't done any tests beyond getting it to work. I've temporarily stowed away my harry carry knives.
Title: Re: setting up cloud server
Post by: ken_anthony on August 09, 2016, 12:30:28 am
Turning the firewall completely off doesn't allow me to connect. I'm stumped. Changing any parameter in the config file doesn't allow me to install the service. I assume default port means 51234 which would be fine if it worked.

What is the proper way to manage the firewall on a remote windows server? I haven't a clue. All control panel seems to allow is totally off or on.
Title: setting up cloud server (unresolved? old thread)
Post by: cj on March 12, 2017, 12:25:38 pm
I missed the second page of this old thread.
Not sure what you mean by cloud server?  You must be running Windows.
I am assuming this is a virtual server.

Did you get it working?  Sorry, this is months later and I don't see anyone responded.

1. Control panel, firewall, advanced settings,inbound rules, Add new rule, port
    Firewall Inbound connection to the port like 51234 must be enabled and allow all remote ports.
2. Be sure no anti-virus is blocking program
3. Edit \bin\sqliteningserver.cfg
Port =  51234             (replace with port number allowed through firewall.)
Hosts = 45.40.133.16  (replace with ip address used to connect to remote desktop.)
Restart/start sqliteningserver.exe (service)

I am assuming it is running in your virtual server so you don't control the entire machine.